Pre-Trial Fairness Act Appeals Division

Contact Information

State's Attorneys Appellate Prosecutor
Pre-Trial Fairness Act Appeals Division
725 South Second Street
Springfield, Illinois 62704
Phone: (217) 782-1628
Fax: (217) 782-6305
TTY: (217) 558-1605


Following the Supreme Court of Illinois’ decision in Rowe v. Raoul in 2023 – which found Illinois’ no-cash bail provisions under the State’s SAFE-T Act constitutional – the State’s Attorneys Appellate Prosecutor (ILSAAP) established its SAFE-T Act Division. This new division provides resources to State’s Attorneys’ offices throughout the State to address appeals under Illinois Supreme Court Rule 604(h). Interlocutory appeals under Rule 604(h) require a responsive pleading to be filed within 21 days. ILSAAP’s SAFE-T Act division ensures that the Supreme Court’s time-line mandate is met in a way that is professional and justice forward.


The following personnel are assigned to the Pre-Trial Fairness Act Appeals Division:


Contract Counsel:

  • Philip B. Alfeld
  • Brown, Hay & Stephens
  • Clayborne and Wagner LLP
  • Michael T. Delcomyn
  • Giffin Winning Cohen and Bodewes, P.C.
  • Virginia (Vermillion) Hennessey
  • Hinshaw and Culbertson, LLP
  • Paul L. Jacobs
  • Jennifer Lynch
  • Mahoney, Silverman & Cross, LLC
  • Sam C. Mitchell and Associates
  • Carol Pope
  • Colette Safford
  • Chad Turner
  • Uphoff Law

Request for Statement of Qualifications:

Request for Qualifications period has closed for this fiscal year.